Home My Library Authors News and Reviews Forums Links
  ? Help
Welcome to ElectricStory.com® Search by: 
Other categories:

Exclusive Movie Reviews
by Lucius Shepard

"Crimea River"
by Howard Waldrop

"Things I've Found"
by Mark Rose

Editorials
by Bob Kruger

"From Here You
Can See the
Sunquists"

by Richard Wadholm

"They're Made
Out of Meat"

by Terry Bisson

"A Dry, Quiet War"
by Tony Daniel

"The Night of White Bhairab"
by Lucius Shepard



Recent Customer Book Reviews


lukegregor , 8/9/2007 — A Dry, Quiet War by Tony Daniel “Intentionally Left Blank: This is an excellent story.”

The Mad Hatter, 4/12/2007 — New Celebrations by Alexei Panshin “Alexei Panshin should be shot...: Or maybe whipped with a wet noodle until he writes the long awaited fourth book in this series. I first stumbled across Masque World over 30 years ago (1975 or 1976) in a used book store in Aurora Ontario called 'The Book Nook.' Bought it, read it, fell in love with the characters and concept. Ordered reprints of 'Star Well' and 'The Thurb Revolution' when they became available. Loved them too. Wasted several years (until the middle 80's) looking for the 'Universal Pantograph', only to find out that it had never been published. </br> </br> 'Rite of Passage' may have won a Nebula. You know what - it's not half as good as the Anthony Villiers novels. Maybe not a quarter as good. </br> </br> Alexei - give your long suffering fans a break and write the damned book! Heck - I'm pushing 50 now, I'm not in good health, and I'd really appreciate it if the thing was published before either you or I pass on. </br> </br> Wayne aka The Mad Hatter ”

WiktoriaN, 3/3/2007 — Aeon Speculative Fiction, Issue Eight by Marti McKenna, et al. “Aeon:


Returner, 1/7/2007 — In the House of the Worm by George R. R. Martin “: Pretty good.”

Returner, 11/6/2006 — A Song For Lya by George R. R. Martin “Very good: A very interesting short story. Worth reading even if you've never heard of Martin.”

kroy_J, 8/13/2006 — Fevre Dream by George R. R. Martin “Amazing: This is now one of my top 5 favorite books. With this book, George R.R Martin has created my favorite chracter out of all the books I've ever read.”

Tarrant, 6/10/2006 — A Dry, Quiet War by Tony Daniel “Intriguing and unique!: It's a pity that this was only a short story. Mr. Daniel has a unique writing style, and this story is far from 'conventional' sci-fi. It is an easy read, but holds your attention. It hints at a future battle that is both epic in scope, and ethereal in nature. Yet, Mr. Daniel renders this story around a topic far more common, but no less important: love and hope. Bravo!”

Tarrant, 6/10/2006 — Metaplanetary by Tony Daniel “Superb!: This book is the first of a trilogy: However, only the 1st and 2nd books were ever written - the 3rd was not funded by the publisher. Yet, this book is classic for Tony Daniel - it exemplifies his unique writing style for sci-fi. He conceives of a future that is very different from what has been written about before. And yet, certain themes remain the same: the battle for love, family, power, and domination. Read this, and encourage Mr. Daniel to write the 3rd installment!”

davidngena, 4/16/2006 — A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson “A Skewed History of Almost Everything: While the book is well written from a literary standpoint, the content leaves much to be desired. The Author presents several theories as fact (Such as the big bang, the Oort cloud, and macro-evolution), but is honest enough to admit (many times over), that the evidence is scarce or non-existent. For that, I applaud his honesty. I simply find it disturbing to present the un-proven, or un-provable as fact.”

starjet, 3/24/2006 — They're Made Out of Meat by Terry Bisson “Who Cares About Meat's Opinions?: This is one of my all-time favorite short stories.”